Power

mbnz77

Hi, I'm a complete newbie and just starting out with a DC layout for my son. I have all the Hornby track extensions A through F laid and just have some questions about power.

Everything runs ok but the train does get a bit slow/staggers in a couple of areas. I'm using a basic R8250 controller. 

Is it likely the controller is not powerful enough for this layout?

I've also read about bus wires, Is it likely that i will need these?

Always check all joiners / fishplates are quite tight, the track is joined correctly and is correctly lined up, but above all, that R8250 works for small, modern locomotives, like the 0-4-0.

Anything bigger will need more power which it simply cannot sustain and 'thermals' out, so this is definitely something to 'upgrade'.

Al.

Hello mbnz77. It may be that there is invisible "dirt" on sections of your track. Just try running a track rubber or a cloth with IPA over the spots where your loco stumbles. It is surprising how a little dirt can affect running. Otherwise please take a look at the cleanliness of your loco wheels. Maybe this simple fact is the cause of your troubles. Hope this helps.

Thanks everyone.

Your guide is very useful Chrisaaf. Regarding the wiring, you suggest the use of a link wire (figure 10 in the guide). Is it a better option to solder the link wire to the track in this location?

Also, am I correct In saying the track layout is the same for all extension packs regardless of whether DC or DCC is used? I have used insulated fish plates in the location shown in figure 16 (as the plan was originally to go DC with 2 controllers) will this effect anything if I decide to go DCC?

Is it a better option to solder the link wire to the track in this location?